Age Range

The Cub Scout section is for young people (boys and girls) usually between the ages of 8 and 10½. These ages are flexible (to within six months either side), this allows for young people to move with their friends or when they are best suited to move on to the next section.  This makes sure the young people enjoy their time in Scouting as much as possible.

About Cubs

Cubs are the third section of the Scouting family and wear a green sweatshirt.  Groups normally meet weekly at the group, known as the Cub Scout Pack.  Meeting places vary between groups and may be schools, church halls or community buildings. Some Scout Groups have their own headquarters that they meet in.
The Cub Scout programme is packed with fun and adventure, and is designed to present every young person with new challenges and prepare them for when they become a Scout. Each Cub Scout will gain some of the 7 ‘challenge’ and 33 ‘activity’ badges that are available, during their time in the pack; and also have the opportunity to go camping. Many groups also take part in district led activities as well as organising day trips to places such as a theme park, zoo or local attractions.

Awards for Cubs

Cub Scouts can gain a number of awards and badges, They start with the Membership Award which is given to Cubs after they have made their promise and been invested into the Scout Movement.
The Moving-On Award is the last award given once a Cub Scout has completed their time in Cubs and moved into Scouts.

Below are some of the different awards that Cubs can work towards:

Activity Badges

Many of the badges available are activity badges, these are designed for Cub Scouts to show their progress in existing pursuits, but also to give them the chance to try new things and form new interests

Challenge Badges

These are designed to be that bit more ambitious.  They may involve completing tasks at the group, in the community or maybe even at home. The badges follow a number of themes, some are physical, some are more outdoors, whilst others are about the community or the world in which we all live. They are as the name suggests, designed to challenge young people, but completing them is a great achievement.

Staged Badges

Cubs also work towards gaining Staged Activity Badges. They are completed in different stages, so after completing each stage Members are awarded the relevant badge. Some badges have different stages, for example, nights away are awarded after one, five and ten nights away (and more!). Stages badges are continued as young people move throughout the sections of Scouting.

Chief Scout’s Silver Award

The Chief Scout’s Silver Award is the highest award which can be gained by Cub Scouts. In order to attain it, Cubs must have completed six Challenge Awards by the time they are ready to move on to Scouts. They can, if necessary complete this in the early stages of being in the Scout section.